Innovation Awards

Update [April 23, 2020]: ESX leadership strives to find innovative ways for the community to stay connected and support electronic security and life safety professionals during these unprecedented times. While the in-person ESX 2020 conference may be cancelled, we are pleased to announce that the 2020 ESX Innovation Awards will be going virtual and open to all security and life safety industry manufacturers and service providers.


The ESX Innovation Awards distinguish innovation and excellence in electronic security and life safety and identify the next-gen products and services that will propel the industry forward. We encourage companies to enter products or services that benefit the end user experience, as well as benefit top line revenue and bottom results of dealers, integrators, and/or monitoring companies.

The 2020 ESX Innovation Awards will be conducted virtually and award-winners will be shared publicly to the ESX community this summer to celebrate all the industry has achieved this past year. Check back soon to find out who has made it to compete in the TechVision Challenge.


The 2020 ESX Innovation Awards are comprised of three award types:

  • Best in Category: a panel of experts will review and select the best from each of the 14 product/service categories.
  • TechVision Best in Show: a panel of experts will review the Best in Category winners and select the top-rated product or service that demonstrates exemplary results, benefits, and innovation.
  • People’s Choice Award: the ESX community will have the opportunity to cast their vote for their favorite product or service from the Best in Category winners.

Important Dates

June 5, 2020: submission deadline for entries

Week of July 27, 2020: 2020 Innovation Award Best in Category winners announced

July 28-August 13, 2020: Voting for the People's Choice Award

August 13, 2020: Last day to vote for the People's Choice Award

Week of August 31, 2020: TechVision Best in Show winner and People Choice Award winner announced

Entry Information

Entry Requirements

To be considered for the 2020 ESX Innovation Awards, your product or service entered must:

  • Fit within one of the official award categories.
  • Be either new or field tested and made available to the market between January 1, 2018 and June 5, 2020.


Each product or service will be judged on the following:

  • Features and functions
  • Innovation
  • End user experience
  • Revenune growth potential
  • Impact on company value/efficiencies
  • Compliance with regulations

All entries are judged by members of the ESX Award Jury, representing leading professionals and experts in the electronic security and life safety industry. The Jury scores entries on a performance scale and winning entries are recognized and awarded based on the combined scoring of the Jury. All decisions are final.

By submitting a product or service to the 2020 ESX Innovation Awards, your entry will be submitted for the chance to win up to three awards – Best in Category, TechVision Best in Show, and/or People’s Choice Award.


Each entrant will receive an email notification confirming their entry meets the requirements and has been accepted for consideration for the 2020 ESX Innovation Awards. Winners will be notified via email after the ESX Award Jury selects the winning products or services for each category and the TechVision winner has been selected.

Award Benefits

Best in Category, TechVision Best in Show, and People's Choice Award winners will be:

  • Featured in a two-page spread in Security Systems News, a premier news publication in the electronic security and life safety industry. 

  • Recognized in a 2020 ESX Innovation Award press release sent to trade media.

  • Shared on the ESX website, social channels, and enewsletters.


Media Sponsor

 Security Systems News

2020 Award Winners

View the 2020 Innovation Awards winners here.